Harford County Cultural Arts Board Zoom Meeting

Monday, May 2, 2022

Present: Chuck Bowden (Chairperson), Jessica Cleaver (Coordinator), Chris Depkin, Gigi Devanney, Emily Fadgen, Karen Heppen, Sierra Keys, Peter McCallum, Christina McLoughlin, Wendy Roberts, Bill Rothenbach, and Aurora Kahoe (legislative assistant for Councilman Chad Shrodes).

Absent: Heidi Neff Chuffo, Angie Sokolov, Elizabeth Stevens, Erin Whipple. Marcia Bailey,

- The meeting was brought to order by Chuck Bowden at 6:03 p.m..
- The consent agenda was addressed and it consisted of the following three items—the April 4, 2022 meeting minutes, updates/reports, and the most current financial summary. Karen Heppen moved to approve these items and Gigi Devanney provided the second. The consent agenda items were approved unanimously. A follow-up discussion was led by Jessica Cleaver in which she reviewed the funds remaining in the Harford County Cultural Arts Board budget. Because of a potential budget deficit of approximately \$4,000.00, the Board agreed that the COVID Recovery application requests will be limited to an award of \$2,000.00 each. This action will avoid a budget deficit and provide a balance that can be used for targeted purposes.
- The revised Arts in Education Grant request for George S. Lisby Elementary School, which was discussed at the April 4 Board meeting, was presented by Jessica Cleaver.
 Peter McCallum moved to approve this grant request and Karen Heppen provided the second. The motion to approve this grant request was approved unanimously.
- Jessica Cleaver presented eight 2022 COVID Recovery applications. These eight applications are: (a) Deer Creek Chorale, Inc.; (b) Harford Ballet Company DBA Ballet Chesapeake; (c) Harford Choral Society, Inc.; (d) Havre de Grace Arts Collective; (e) Scottfield Theatre Company; (f) Theatreworks Live; (g) Tidewater Players, Inc.; and (h) Upper Chesapeake Chorus of the Sweet Adeline's, Inc. Bill Rothenbach moved to approve all eight applications for an award of \$2,000.00 each and Gigi Devanney provided the second. This motion passed unanimously with Board members abstaining from voting on any application where there was a personal conflict of interest.
- Jessica Cleaver presented fourteen Independent Artist Mini-Grant requests at the
 funding level of \$500.00 each. The Board concurred that the request for Michael Rose
 not be considered for funding because of non-compliance issues with last year's award
 that he received. This resulted in the following thirteen requests being considered for
 funding: Joanna Barnum, Sarahia Benn, Irmgarde Brown, Michael Gaudreau, Nicki
 Jergensen, Rosemari Kelly, Derek Pentz, Andrea Sauer, Malachi Stocks, Ariana
 Tharrington, Elinir Tryon Elgin, Sean "Guy" Wallis, and Pamela Wilde (one application

- only). Peter McCallum moved to fund these thirteen applications for \$500.00 each and Bill Rothenbach provided the second. This motion passed unanimously.
- Jessica Cleaver provided the Board members with a detailed overview of the FY23
 Community Arts Development Grant review and approval process including important timelines.
- Chuck Bowden and Jessica Cleaver reviewed several activities as "looking ahead reminders for 2022." The discussion focused on the following: (a) cultural destination website; (b) user experience project; (c) CAD Grant process and document evaluation; (d) festival participation including the Pride Festival, Bel Air Arts Festival and the Havre de Grace Arts Festival; (e) listening sessions; and (f) Arts Gathering plans.
- The Board members were reminded that 2023 marks the 50th anniversary of the Harford County Cultural Arts Board.
- Board members shared upcoming activities that will be conducted by the various arts organization to which they belong.
- The next meeting of the full Harford County Cultural Arts Board will be held on June 6, 2022. This meeting will be held virtually unless the current COVID-19 restrictions are rescinded. If this occurs, meetings will be held at the Bel Air branch the Harford County Public Library unless another location is designated.
- The meeting was formally concluded at 7:12 p.m. by Chuck Bowden.