Harford County Cultural Arts Board Zoom Meeting Monday, January 4, 2021

Present: Chuck Bowden (Chairperson), Jessica Cleaver (Coordinator), Marcia Bailey, Kelley Dilworth, Emily Fadgen, Karen Heppen, Peter McCallum, Christina McLoughlin, Heidi Neff Chuffo, Wendy Roberts, Angie Sokolov, Laura Ward-Moran, Erin Whipple, and Aurora Kahoe (legislative assistant for Councilman Chad Shrodes).

Absent: Jared Noe.

- The meeting was brought to order by Chuck Bowden at 6:04 p.m..
- The consent agenda was the first meeting topic addressed. This consisted of the following three items—the December 7, 2020 meeting minutes, the most current financial summary, and the Coordinator's Report. Karen Heppen moved to approve all three items and Peter McCallum provided the second. The consent agenda items were approved unanimously.
- The Independent Artist Relief Grant applications for Omari Mooring, Laura Numsen, and Pamela Wilde were presented for consideration. There was a brief discussion regarding how to document and ensure that "gigs" cancelled due to Covid-19 restrictions are accurately captured. This criterion only will be used in grant-review situations where it "makes sense." Peter McCallum moved that these three grant applications be approved contingent upon Jessica Cleaver obtaining the proper documented information from all the aforementioned applicants. Marcia Bailey provided the second. This motion was passed unanimously.
- The Harford Living Treasure Nominations for Samuel Foard and Carol Morrow were presented and discussed. Angie Sokolov moved that they be approved and Peter McCallum provided the second. The motion to approve these two nominees was passed unanimously.
- Angie Sokolov requested that all members complete the Board matrix soon as this is
 a time-sensitive document. She has communicated with all six interested
 prospective Board member candidates. These candidates will be interviewed on
 January 6 and January 11, 2021 with the recommendations being brought to the
 February 1, 2021 Board meeting for approval consideration. At Peter McCallum's
 suggestion, Angie Sokolov and the selection committee will be designing a
 documenting process that will substantiate the decisions regarding which
 candidates were selected or not selected for approval consideration.
- Jessica Cleaver provided a grantmaking update. All grant agreements have been signed except one Three additional grant programs are forthcoming. There are two FY21 Emergency Fund Grants, in addition to Arts in Education Grants. The first emergency grant is \$50,000 and will be divided among the current arts organizations that are grant recipients. The other is \$25,000 will be used for the recently discussed Economic Impact grants creating jobs. In total, \$241,901 grant funding from the state for FY21 has been allocated to the Harford County Cultural Arts Board.

- Of the total \$160,277 from MSAC to Harford County Cultural Arts Board in FY20, \$144,000.00 was disbursed as grants.
- Jessica Cleaver will be applying for the FY22 state funds soon.
- An informational email from the Harford County Cultural Arts Board regarding the "Unity Project" will be issued by January 15, 2021. The "Unity Project" subcommittee will meet again on January 12, 2021 and input from the entire Board regarding "talking points" is essential prior to this date. Board members are to submit their feedback to Erin Whipple. Following the January 12, 2021 meeting, the subcommittee will forward a draft to the Board for critique. As part of this review process, Christina McLoughlin requested that Jessica Cleaver send a separate reminder email to the Board about the "talking points" so providing input will receive top priority.
- The next meeting of the full Harford County Cultural Arts Board will be held on February 1, 2021. This meeting will be held virtually unless the current Covid-19 restrictions are rescinded. If this occurs, meetings will be held at the Bel Air branch of the Harford County Public Library.
- The meeting was formally concluded at 6:29 p.m. by Chuck Bowden.